Dani’s spaghetti puttanesca

My friend Dani lent me the most amazing treasure – her family recipe book! All her delicious tried and tested recipes!! Dani is a fantastic cook (and gorgeous as are her kiddos – see lovely pic below) so I want to try pretty much everything in the book. She recommended I do her pasta puttanesca first.

Dani and kids

DSC_0629

All I want for lunch at the moment is tomato pasta – it’s raining incessantly and I’m run down – so I was very keen to try this recipe. Lewis and I both love pasta puttanesca. We lived off it when travelling in Argentina as there are lots of Italians and Italian restaurants in Buenos Aires. We had a memorable moment in Bolivia when Lewis ordered it and received a bowl of cold pasta in a bright purple sauce!?

This spaghetti puttanesca is delicious and a nice change from our fresh tomato sauce staple. It is very easy and quick to make. I was a bit unsure about giving it to Lexie because of all the capers and anchovies but she loved it (I left out the chilli for her). I have to add this sauce was even better the next day so definitely recommend making lots and storing some sauce in the fridge (we stored it in an old jam jar – will probably keep up to a week). Also having made it a few times I can say definitively it is 100% Lexie’s favourite meal right now!

DSC_0643

Spaghetti puttanesca

Prep time: 5-10 mins
Cooking time: 15-20 mins

  • Olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic chopped
  • 6 anchovy fillets (or a small tin)
  • 1 tbsp of chopped capers
  • 1 tsp dried oregano
  • 1 dried chilli or 1 tsp chilli powder (or a fresh chopped chilli!)
  • 1 small white onion chopped
  • Chopped olives (recipe says black but I used green as it was what I had)
  • 1 tin of whole plum tomatoes (miles better than pre-chopped)
  • Spaghetti
  • Salt and pepper
  • Grated parmesan

DSC_0620

Heat the olive oil in a pan and add the garlic, anchovies and capers. Add the chilli (dried or fresh) and oregano and cook gently. Add the onions and olives and fry for a few minutes to soften (I fried them for about 10 mins which is probably longer than the recipe calls for but I was happy!). Add the tin of tomatoes and break them up a bit with a spoon. Simmer the sauce for about 10-20 mins. Cook the spaghetti as per the instructions then drain and tip into the puttanesca sauce. Season to taste and serve with some grated parmesan.

DSC_0647

2 thoughts on “Dani’s spaghetti puttanesca

  1. Basque piperade with eggs – Mini eats

  2. Chocolate and almond cake – Mini eats

Leave a Reply

